Dennis Harding is only the third occupant of the Abercromby Chair at the University of Edinburgh, his predecessors being V. Gordon Childe (1927-46) and Stuart Piggott (1946-77). With his formal retiral in Autumn, 2007, the Abercromby Chair was in abeyance until in 2012 the University revived the title as an internal appointment.

Photo – A brace of Abercromby Professors: Professor Dennis Harding (on the right) as Dean, presented the Laureation Address for Professor Stuart Piggott, who was awarded an Honorary D.Litt in 1984.

Email Address: